top of page


The Lagos State Senior Model College, Kankon has emerged as the best school and champion in the grand finale of the year 2021 Lagos State Schools Debate Competition defeating Lagos State Senior Model College, Igbonla, and Community Senior High School, Alapere, to the second and third positions respectively. Speaking at the virtual grand finale, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education, Mrs. Abosede Adelaja, noted that the competition, an initiative of the Lagos State Government, is aimed at producing socially stable and self-reliant students who can easily integrate into the larger society. The Permanent Secretary stressed that the present administration, through the Ministry, initiated various competitions to boost the confidence of students, maintaining that apart from cognitive skills taught in the classroom, the competition creates an avenue for the children to explore the art of public speaking and make them conduct research on various topics and trending issues. She affirmed that this year’s edition, which is the second virtual season, was prompted in line with the education and technology agenda of the Babajide Sanwo-Olu led administration and its commitment to revitalisation of the education sector, through the use of technology to enhance learning outcomes. Her words: “As a government, we have made sure that the teaching of English Language is greatly improved in schools and our students can compete at various competitions and attend educational programmes virtually through the use of mobile gadgets from the comfort of their homes”. Mrs. Adelaja congratulated all participants, emphasising that everyone is a winner and no one should feel bad for not emerging the overall best, stressing that “I consider you all as winners and we are indeed proud of you”. Other winners in the competition include Ogunmodede Junior College, Epe; Isheri-Oshun Community Junior Secondary School and Lagos State Junior Model College, Ojo, who came first, second and third respectively in the junior category. The star prize for the primary schools' category went to Agbado-Ijaiye Primary School, Ifako Ijaiye, while the second and third prizes were won by Monsuru Agoro Memorial Primary School, Oshodi/Isolo and St. Agnes Primary School, Kosofe respectively. #LASG #ForAGreaterLagos

bottom of page